Goal setting: Oh, look, a butterfly!

I love the idea of goals. As a teacher, we had to write our long-term plans at the beginning of each school year. Like a little type A student, I would create charts for each subject; colourize them, month by month; set out the books to use and bibliographies I would follow in an alphabetized appendix then watch it blow up. My board would change texts, create a new math initiative, a new language program and plans and goals were forgotten in the chalk dust.

As I create garments, accessories, and functional art, goals are the last thing to enter my mind. I find bag after bag of half finished projects and I realize that setting some goals may be a good thing. I start a project then something else catches my eye and I want to try it. Before I finish that project, I am drawn away to another idea. I am busy chasing butterflies all over my field of fibre art. But most professionals in the field are coy. They really don’t want competition so they will sell you something to organize yourself: pens, pencils, a nice book about ideas but nothing concrete.

I think back to my pretty school charts and shudder. They all blew up. What is realistic in this world of creativity?

Well, my BFFs (in my imagination) Arne and Carlos have some great ideas for starters. If I am going to start some realistic goals that I can love and live with, these men have the way to begin. If you have been wondering too, here it is. Enjoy.


Leave a comment